Editor's Briefing

Luke Coppen's Catholic Herald Blog

Papabile leads controversial baptism campaign

leave a comment »

Photo: Cardinal Jorge Mario Bergoglio pictured at the Vatican in April 2005

Sandro Magister has a fascinating post about Cardinal Jorge Mario Bergoglio, the Archbishop of Buenos Aires who, if reports are to be believed, came second to Joseph Ratzinger in the conclave voting.

According Magister, Cardinal Bergoglio is leading a controversial campaign to baptise children in Argentina even if the parents are unlikely to bring them up in the faith. He argues that this attempt to safeguard Catholicism as “the Church of the masses” is in line with Pope Benedict’s teaching.

He quotes the cardinal as saying:

The child has no responsibility for the condition of his parents’ marriage. The baptism of children can, on the contrary, become a new beginning for the parents.

A while ago, I baptised the seven children of one woman, a poor widow who works as a maid and had her children by two different men. I met her on the feast of St Cajetan. She said to me: ‘Father, I am in mortal sin, I have seven children and have never had them baptised, I don’t have the money for the godparents and for the party… I saw her again and after a little catechesis I baptised them in the chapel of the archepiscopal residence.

The woman said to me: ‘Father, I can’t believe it, you make me feel important’. I said to her: ‘But madam, what do I have to do with it? It’s Jesus who makes you important.’

Written by Luke Coppen

December 1, 2009 at 1:45 pm

Leave a Reply

