Editor's Briefing

Luke Coppen's Catholic Herald Blog

‘Oprah’s priest’ prepares for global debut

leave a comment »

Fr Uwem Akpan will take part in a global webcast with Oprah Winfrey next Monday. The talkshow host has chosen the Nigerian Jesuit’s book of short stories, Say You’re One of Them, as the next selection for her book club.

The discussion will take place on November 9 at 9 pm ET/ 8 pm CT / 2am GMT and there will be a live simulcast on Oprah.com, CNN.com and Facebook.

Winfrey has posted five video blogs explaining why she chose the priest’s book.

Meanwhile, the Beninoise singer Angélique Kidjo has created a song, “Agbalagba”, inspired by Fr Akpan’s work.

For more background on the author, click here and here.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

Advertisements

Written by Luke Coppen

November 2, 2009 at 10:31 pm

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: